top of page
  • Writer's pictureUplift of Rural Iowa

Snow Days!

This morning my daughter (15 months) woke up at 5:00 a.m. (on a Sunday!). To make matters worse, the high temperature for the day was roughly eight degrees and there is two feet of snow on the ground - another long day trapped inside, ugh, not so #sundayfunday


I wallowed in my own self-pity for a few minutes and the scrambled for some activities to keep us busy for the day. Since it was much too cold to go outside, I thought, why not bring the snow inside?! I wish I could have taken a picture of my husband's face when I asked him to take a plastic bin outside, fill it with snow, and bring it back in. I filled some ramekins with water and plant based food coloring then handed my daughter some medicine droppers and let her "paint" the snow. She loved it and it kept her occupied for much longer than I thought it would #momwin


And you know what, that little girl was so tuckered out from all our fun (and her early rising) she took two naps -giving me much more extra-time than I normally have before starting the workweek all over again #doublemomwin Sometimes situations that seem unmanageable, turn out to be blessings. Wishing you all an amazing week and some extra mom-wins.


-Michelle


 

Upcoming Events


Meetup for Moms -Self Care

This event was rescheduled due to, you guessed it - snow! So, we're combining our January and February event to be held on February 10th. Free chair massages, essential oils, food and childcare will be provided. Check out our Event page our our Facebook page for more details.


"Fierce Love" Workshop

Registration is now open for our online workshop! Weekly discussions with other moms just like you will take place via a private Facebook group. We'll be using the MOPS "Fierce Love" curriculum as a base for our discussions. This curriculum is "for any mom who has experienced anything from baby blues to postpartum depression, anxiety, scary thoughts, bipolar or panic disorder, and everything in between. It offers a unique mix of practical tools and soul care." Find more information about the curriculum here. Please register here if you are interested so that we can order the appropriate number of workbooks. We look forward to sharing with you!


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page